2013: The Reading Year in Review

It is December 31, 2013, and I am exhausted. Twelve hours ago, at four in the morning, I finished my fortieth and final book of the year.

On January 1, 2013, I created a GoodReads Reading Challenge goal of 2 books per month, plus one book each month for my monthly book club—a total of 38 books. I created some challenges for myself within that: create space on my bookshelves, finish reading the novels by Jane Austen that I hadn’t read, read every novel by the Brontë sisters, and finish Nicholas Nickleby after months in limbo. I have done all of these things.

So here’s a brief rundown, broken down into different categories because I’m a weirdo like that (counting each book just once):

Books read for book clubs: 7

Novels by Jane Austen: 3

Novels by Charlotte, Emily, or Anne Brontë: 7

Novels by Charles Dickens: 1

Number of graphic novels: 2

Number of 20th century novels in the vein of classics: 4

Number of books I read for review or research purposes: 5

Number of contemporary/commercial novels:  4

Number of short story collections: 7

Plus a couple of shout-outs. First, my trusty book mark. When I first started (and failed to finish) Nicholas Nickleby at around 16 or 17, I picked up a paint sample in the shade Tea Cup. When I started Nicholas Nickleby again at the age of 24 in the fall of 2012, the sample was still there. It has been my bookmark in every book I’ve read this year.

Yep. Huge book weirdo.

Yep. Huge book weirdo.

Secondly, to my trusty marking pen. I don’t mark up every book I read, but annotating helps me focus. I have used the same color and type of pen since college and this one is like three years old. I need to find a place that sells them locally.

Photo 102

Not pictured: much needed haircut.

So what’s next? Well, I’m participating in a staff reading challenge at one of my jobs and I need to get moving on that, I need to actually look into the grad school thing instead of just talking about it, I have some volunteer training I need to study for, plus meet-the-author events, book clubs and discussions…so maybe reading that many books again in 2014 won’t be that hard.

I want to dig a little deeper into the pros and cons of doing a GoodReads challenge, so if you did one or refuse to do one or just set a non-GoodReads goal, please leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

