Day 26: O Glazunov, how I have failed you!

I’ve played four instruments throughout my life, and none of them well. I hated practicing, I got nervous in front of my teachers, and I’m still embarrassed about my vibrato block.

Day 26: A Song You Can Play on an Instrument

Here’s something I was working on in high school that never mastered.  I could play through all the notes, and even perform it in pieces, but didn’t get through it.

Alexander Glazunov – “Concerto for Saxphone in E-flat”

It’s worth a whole listening to, if you are interested in the other parts.

Here is one I could legitimately play well on the piano.

Ludwig van Beethoven – “Piano Sonata No. 14 in C♯ minor ‘Quasi una fantasia,’ Mvmt 1,” a.k.a. “Moonlight Sonata”

Here is what I was working on when I quit piano.

Claude Debussy – “Rêverie”

I miss the piano.  Even if I was never stellar at it, and even though I could never figure out how to play triplets and eighth notes at the same time.  Only Salieri truly understands me.

Leave a Reply

