Day 24: Wolfi? WOLFI?!

Day 24: A Song You Want to Play at Your Funeral

(I think “song you want to be played” is a better phrasing, but whatever.)

I have to say, I really don’t know.  Any, like, alt-rock song seems pretty inappropriate for a funeral, but considering I’m not really religious, neither does something like “Amazing Grace.”  There are some blues songs like Bob Dylan’s version of “In My Time of Dyin'” or “See That My Grave is Kept Clean” that don’t seem appropriate either—I’m already dead, so shouldn’t really be singing the blues.  So I don’t mean to be joke-y or anything, but this is what sprang to mind first.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – “Requiem: Lacrimosa”

Or this, I guess:

PJ Harvey – “You Come Through”

I’m not particularly Irish, but there’s also this:

Rankin Family – “An Innis Aigh” (“The Happy Isle“)

Now that I think about it, there are quite a few songs I like.  And what do I care if they use the word “lord” or not?  (Or whether that last one is from Sookie eating her grief pie?)

 

Leave a Reply

