Day One: Hang for Your Hollow Ways

Apparently, when it comes to blogging, I fear commitment.  Twilight didn’t pan out (I sent the books back to the friend who generously lent them to me for a year).  I let re-watching Mad Men fall by the wayside (although one day I’d like to pick it back up).  It’s, sadly, too much to watch the episode and write up a commentary.  So instead I’m going to bet back into it with the 30-Day Song Challenge, an idea I put on the back-burner until a friend of mine started it up on Facebook.  And ripping off her idea to write a blurb about music every day is a lot easier than trying to be Analytical.

Day One: Your favorite song.

Neutral Milk Hotel, “Oh, Comely.”

Currently, this song is in a three-way (embattled) tie, for most-listened to on my iTunes, along with “Well Well Well” by John Lennon and “Black Dog” by Led Zeppelin.  I listened to the latter two mostly as a stress-release tool when I used to drive home from work during my last place of employ.  But “Oh Comely,” with its forlorn and surreal lyrics makes it a little bit more of an all-occasion song—or more occasions than lusty ones.

Although I’m a big Neutral Milk Hotel fan, I didn’t really know about them until fairly recently.  Something that probably would be a more accurate picture of a music-conscious self would almost by default be a song by Nirvana, who provided a soundtrack to my formative years (i.e., the years where my laundry consisted of 3 loads of black and a couple pair of jeans).  Although I no longer listen to Nirvana obsessively as I once did, I (alarmingly) do not tire of them.  It’s like a security blanket, and the simple guitar solo of “Sappy” still gets me in a head-banging mood:

And, finally, if one were to go way, waaaaay back, I continue to love this little number by Ralph Vaughan Williams, which I first heard in the first grade.  We had a very zealous music teacher who took the whole elementary school to the symphony every year, as well as a zealous art teacher, who had us paint to the pre-selected program every year.  I did a symphony painting to “Fantasia on Greensleeves”—but I think it was more of an abstract-expressionist venture (i.e., lines).  This video has the best arrangement, but if you get motion sickness, I advise you to listen rather than watch:

Leave a Reply

